Borsteinn Nicholas Cameron and the Art of Self-Portait

One day he decides to take 100 self-portrait, one self-portrait each day. 100 days later he has created a set of self-portraits plenty of humor and creativity. This young men deserve that we check out his Flickr page for more visual canides.

THE INTERVIEW WITH CAPTAIN CAMERON

Can you shortly introduce yourself and how/when you started photography?

My name is Þorsteinn Nicholas Cameron, I live in Iceland and I am 16 years old. I started shooting about 4 years ago. It never really occurred to me how much could be done with photography until I took part in a photography course held by the local art university.

You did a set of 100 self-portrait. This exercise is relatively difficult, why did you choose
self-portraiture?

It was pretty difficult, yes. I was out in the country with my cousin when the idea first occurred to me. I don’t think there’s one main reason behind the project but to mention a few; I needed to prove to a certain few that I wasn’t just a lazy ass and I had seen a project where an Icelandic photographer I admire did the same thing
(http://www.flickr.com/photos/torfason/). Self-portraiture has never really been my thing, I just needed a theme I could depend on being there every day.
Under the set of the 100 self-portrait you write “I finally discovered my style”. How would you describe your style?

Minimal.

If you had to choose only one of your self-portrait for an exhibition wich one would you choose and why?

I like a lot of them but then again I hate a great deal of them as well. It’d have to be either day 74 or day 96.
What, in your point of view, make a good self-portrait?

The same things that make a good portrait. Self-portraits are no different, you need something that identifies the subject and a connection. To me though, in every branch of photography, the most important thing is composition. Composition makes a photo what it is.

What material do you use?

I use digital cameras and also a bit of medium format film when I feel like it. Photoshop plays a large part in my work.

If you could invite 3 photographers at a dinner who would it be and why?

Tumi, Magnús and Rán. Because together we are lethal.

What would you like to ask them?

I’d ask them to hold a show with me.
Any Flickr member whos work you really like and that you would like us to discover?

Tumi
Magnús
Rán

Captain Cameron Thank You!

Leave a Reply

