Severine Pichon: On women self-portraiture

Women self-portrait are fascinating. It’s interesting to see how a woman portray herself in a society submerged with “perfect-women” images. Some days ago I came across Severine Pichon photo-stream and was captivated by her self-portraits. She deliver herself to the camera with no real artifice but the situations, small accessories and places that surround her give a sensation of mystery around her person. Most interestingly in her photo-stream the picture of her parents are less mysterious, more intimate, and it’s this picture, more than her self-portrait, that maybe give a int on who Severin Pichon is.

THE INTERVIEW

Can you shortly introduce yourself?
My name is Severine Pichon, i am 32, graphic designer in a magazine,
generally quiet.

When did you started photography? Did you studied photography at school/university?
I started one year ago, i didn’t really learn photography, but my dad taught me how to use his old rolleiflex that he offered me..how lucky

Do you think it’s important to have good technical skills to be a good photographer?

Well yes i suppose it’s important, but not only this, everything around you is important. if people can see your own sensibility.

What is that interest you in photography?
There are many interests, the way you can tell your own stories, and how photographers choose their subject, hardly or not. To be surprised by such beauty and chaos, sadness and happiness.


How would you describe your work and how do you choose the subjects you work on?

i always have got a precise idea, the picture is already in my mind before i shoot, like a vision, i write everything on a paper, place, people, the story that i want to tell, it’s like a ceremonial. My work is a transposition of ideas, of images.

Your main subjects are women and yourself. Why?

Most of the photos are self portrait, but i don’t like saying « me », it’s more a projection, not really myself. It became a choice, i’d like to shoot men soon, it’s just a matter of opportunities and meeting.

How did you choose the models and how did you direct them?

The models are my family and my friends, i try to shoot people close to me, it’s easier to direct them

What lighting do you use?

I use natural light, but i like using my flash sunpack at night

What are you trying to capture through photography?
I am not trying to capture anything, i am just translating ideas, concept.
in the serie “le vide” about my parents, i am trying to reveal simply the way of life of a couple .

To the viewer of your work what feeling or impression would you like to leave?
It reminds me a story in a bar where i exhibited my work, a woman had a look to one of my picture (a self portrait covered of blood) and she said « i can’t stand whatching this » . This makes me smile.
i am always learning, so, i need feedback from people, if my work gives any emotions, it’s a good start.

Right now are you working on a specific subject? If yes can you tell us more about it?
i am working on a serie called « sitcom » inspired from TV. Sometimes in a funny or shifted situations

What are your main inspirations?

Movies, stories, music, paintings, and other photographers of course, everything who can feed my selective memory.

What do you look for in other photographers work?

To be amazed

If you could invite 3 photographers or artist at a dinner who would it be and why?
Cindy sherman, Gregory Crewdson, Martin Parr, because of their work, it would be a really nice dinner

Any young photographers or Flickr members whose work you really like and that you would like us to discover?

I really like this work : www.flickr.com/photos/mollusk

Thank You Severine.

Interview by Frankie

Severine Flickr Page

One Response to “Severine Pichon: On women self-portraiture”

  1. […] ne sais pas très bien parler du travail des autres , je vous conseille la lecture de son interview ici (j’aurais bien voulu en faire une aussi, mais vu que c’est déjà fait […]

Leave a Reply

