Fernando Montiel Klint on human psyche

Fernando Montiel Klint pictures are a mixture of humour and sadness. He places people in odd situations, in the middle of a room filled with details that start slowly catching your eyes. He is interested in human psyche and likes to play with ours. Each picture of Fernando tell a different story of the human mind and human condition in our modern time. If it’s subject make us first laugh it’s only to better make us think.

THE INTERVIEW


Who are you Fernando Montiel Klint?

A 30 year old, born in México city and working here. Son of a psychiatrist that loves photography, cinema and everything that has to do with the image.

What is photography for you?
Photography is freedom and a way to explore all my thoughts. A way  to create  an artificial life quiet and full of humor.

Your picture are mysterious, plenty of humour and intriguing, can you tell us more about your inspirations and what you want to communicate through photography?

I like the human phyque and the way we live our modern context. I grew up watching a lot of films, since I was a child I like cinema, so I love the way  photography can let you stage a manipulated reality the way you can create your own stories.

What is that interest you in photography?
A different way to see our world, my approach to photography starte when I was 18 years. I started doing some black and white photographs and liked a lot  computers so I started mixing these two mediums to discover new ways to make images.

How would you describe your work and how do you choose the subjects you work on?
“Tableux vivants” of contemporary life manipulated to create an artificial life. I choose my subjects in my daily life. It’s a medium that lets me explore my world and let me take register of my time.

Can you tell us more about your serie “Nirvana ” and “Tiempos Modernos”?
Nirvana is the last portfolio I made these year. My intention is to look for the peace in the middle of the chaos. Making some quiet images. In the Tiempos Modernos, my idea is to represent our contemporary world, with all his addictions, pathologies: our consumersist society.

What lighting and camera do you use?

At first I used a 35 mm and did a lot of darkroom printing, now I use a 4 x 5 camera and a digital, depending on the project I work on and the feeling I want to come up with in my work. If they are gonna be  big prints like Nirvana, where the image is 120 cm tall, I need to see every detail as god as possible. I use a couple of flashes to illuminate.

To the viewer of your work what feeling or impression would you like to leave?
My work is a way to put the viewer in a conflict of what he see on the images and what he feels. I’m interested to see if they need to laugh or are afraid of what they see. I like an active viewer. I like an image that makes you laugh.

Right now are you working on a specific subject? If yes can you tell us more ?
Right now I’m doing some researchs, I surf  the net and read a lot. I download information first and then I will start working on a new subject.

What do you look for in other photographers work?
Concept and something very authorial, the different ways to make photography. A variety of languages.

If you could invite 3 photographers or artist at a dinner who would it be and why?

I think they will be Malleon, Olaf Bruening and Jeff Wall, they make completely different kind of photography so it will be an intresting talk.

Any young photographers or Flickr member which work you really like and that you would like us to discover?
I surf on flickr frequently, here are some good photos I have seen lately.
www.flickr.com/photos/margaritadittborn/
www.flickr.com/photos/escori/
www.flickr.com/photos/29767221@N00/
www.flickr.com/photos/merkley/

Do you have a website where we an see your work?

I just have a flickr www.flickr.com/photos/klint/
Right now I do a lot of commercial work in mexico city with my brother that is also a photographer, we mix our different styles and we do some commercial nice stuff.
www.klintandphoto.com


Thank you Fernando

Interview by Frankie

Leave a Reply

