Michael Doerr and silence

Simple moments. Images as short songs lyrics. Drops of emotions that through the camera will  float forever in our mind. Sometimes words are just too much. Michael Doerr introduce us shortly to his photgraphy through a short interview.

Can you shortly introduce yourself?

My name is Michael Doerr and I am from Germany. I am 41 years old, married and have two daughters. I am working as a nurse on an intensive care unit for anaesthesia. Would anybody be interested in that?

How and when did you started photography?

I think that must be raughly 20 years ago. My wife gave me an SLR camera for Christmas and I took some shots of dried apples.

What is that interest you in photography?

My camera allows me to look into other people’s life as I was looking through a keyhole.

To the viewer of your work what feeling or impression would you like leave?

This certainly varies from photo to photo. But I am happy when my pictures are not only seen and they can also be experienced emotionally.

Right now are you working on a specific subject? If yes can you tell us more about?

I always have some projects in the back of my head. Unfortunately I don’t have the time to realise them at the moment. One of them will be a series of the loss of a beloved person; portraits of a person and its invisible counterpart.

What are your main inspirations?

Curiosity and love towards people.

What do you look for in other photographers work?

I am looking for emotions, for photos which are touching me deep inside.

If you could invite 3 photographers or artist at a dinner who would it be and why?

I certainly would be overstrained with such a task. But I think Gabo would be surely part of them. I saw a documentary about her and was amazed of her way of dealing with people. Paolo Pellegrin and Jock Sturges would be interesting as well to have a chat with.

Any young photographers or Flickr member which work you really like and that you would like us to discover?

This is difficult to say. You usually don’t know the age of the people on flickr. But there may be some under by contacts on flickr which belong to the younger generation.

Thank you Michale

Interview by Frankie

Leave a Reply

